[Bot] zero

Discuss and Share your work for games and clients

Moderator: monkey

monkey
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2025 8:55 pm

Re: [Bot] zero

Post by monkey »

Are you sure you're running only the tw.ps1 script and not the play.ps1 script? I just tested it from scratch with the instructions above and it works fine for me. They join the arena tw.

To verify that you're running the right script, you should see it create SubSpaceServer-4.0.0-win-x64 folder, zero-0.7 folder, and trench.lvl. If it's not creating those then something is wrong.
User avatar
damageinc86
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2025 7:03 pm
Location: Oregon

Re: [Bot] zero

Post by damageinc86 »

yeah ran the tw.ps1 script in powershell. got a bunch of socket errors, and then it shut itself down. All those folders and .lvl were created automatically there as well.

In another folder I have another server though that works with just running the .7 zero bots .bat file. Is there any way to configure these tw .7 bots to just go into my arena I already have on the other server and load the behaviors?
monkey
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2025 8:55 pm

Re: [Bot] zero

Post by monkey »

You shouldn't be getting socket errors unless the server is failing to start. You can check the log folder in the SubspaceServer folder with the current date.log to see if there's any errors in there, or just ignore it and use your other server.

I'm not really sure what you're asking, but I'll explain how the script works. The tw.ps1 script just downloads the server, bots, sets up the ?go tw arena, and generates the zero config files / run.bat file.

If you just want to generate the tw behaviors, you can open the tw.ps1 script in notepad and look for the $RunServer = $true line and set it to $RunServer = $false. That will just generate the zero config files without running the server, so you can run your working server manually before running the script. You can also scroll down in the script to look for the template used to generate the config files and change the "Arena = tw" >> $ConfigPath part to go to whichever arena you already have setup on the other server. If you're running the server on another computer, you can enter the ip in place of the 127.0.0.1 that is in the template section below.

If you want to manually setup your own zero config files, you can make sure TrenchWars = 127.0.0.1:5000 exists in the [Servers] section of your config and set your Server = TrenchWars in the [Login] section. You can configure the behavior to be terrier, spider, or shark in the [General] section with Behavior = terrier.

Example ZeroTerrier1.cfg file I have:

Code: Select all

[Login]
Username = ZeroTerrier1
Password = local
Server = TrenchWars
Encryption = Subspace

[General]
LogLevel = Error
RequestShip = 5
Behavior = terrier
Arena = tw

[Servers]
TrenchWars = 127.0.0.1:5000
User avatar
damageinc86
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2025 7:03 pm
Location: Oregon

Re: [Bot] zero

Post by damageinc86 »

That worked! I edited that config, then changed the run.bat to include that bot instead of just plain ZeroBot1.cfg, and voila, when I attached to the Zero Terrier, I was just outside the flagroom! Phemomenal work! Now we just need the flag/round timer bot to be able to be easily added by itself, outside of the twcore nonsense.
Post Reply